I am Thankful for You

This Thanksgiving, things are different. I am different. A year ago, my life was entirely planned out. Today, my life is entirely planned out in a very opposing direction. I am thankful for change, and I am thankful for those directly (and indirectly) responsible for my rerouting. I am thankful for you.

M. Thank you for fighting with me. I’m thankful I have a woman like you to fight with over curling irons and earrings. I am thankful that in a world with so much chaos, I can hold steadfast faith and love as you’ve raised me to do so. I am thankful for every meal cooked, every ride to friends’ houses (hey, cheers for surviving the chauffeur era, huh?), and every morsel of advice. I am thankful for you.

D. Thank you for the millions of bagels and English muffins. Thank you for the laughs. I am thankful that I am able to introduce you as my best friend. I am thankful for your adamant belief in bike helmets. I am thankful for the hours you take out of your day to teach me tennis (let’s do that again soon). I am thankful for our races up the hill in the Poconos, and I’m thankful you always let me win. I am thankful for you.

K. Thank you for being my other half as we conquered both middle school and high school. Thank you for letting me cry with you; thank you for letting me laugh with you. Thank you for accompanying me to church retreats, Poconos adventures, and everything in between. I am thankful for the permanent bags I have under my eyes from the plethora of all nighters we had in about five years’ span. Thank you for helping me plan my dream wedding when we were ten. Thank you for being you in all that you do. I am thankful for you.

T. Thank you for knowing me better than I know myself. Thank you for going above and beyond the call of duty each and every time I need you. Thank you for laughing extra loud so people don’t hear me snort. Thank you for the endless amounts of coffee you have supplied. Thank you for coming over less than 5 minutes after I told you my cat died. Thank you for letting me cry about boys to you. Thank you for blessing me with your company, and your contagious never-ending politeness. Thank you for being the most steadfast friend I have ever encountered. I am thankful for you.

K. Thank you for teaching me what real love looks like. Thank you for taking the broken pieces and gluing me back together when it wasn’t you who broke me. Thank you for reminding me that God is always there. Thank you for always being there. I am thankful for you.

M. Thank you for being my best friend. I am thankful for our tenth grade class, and I am thankful for your contagious laughter. I am thankful for our advice sessions and your encouragement. I am thankful for your abundant energy and abundant kindness. Thank you for always knowing what to say, and how to say it. Thank you for forcing me to wake up some mornings, and thank you for your support in my vast planning. I am thankful for you.

E. Thank you for being the most caring man I have ever met. Thank you for your friendship, and our adventures. Thank you for never saying no when I need you. Thank you for reading me on a regular basis, and for telling me things I don’t know about myself. Thank you for teaching me not to settle, and thank you for enforcing that. I am thankful for your support in my crafting problem, and I am thankful for the millions of times you have answered your phone. I am thankful for you.

J. Thank you for fighting with me. I know there’s something to fight for, and I am thankful for your smile. I am thankful for your laughs, and for your hand to hold on those cold Wednesday night walks. I am thankful I sat next to you that September night. I am thankful for you.

S. Thank you for taking care of me my first year away from home. Thank you for being my best friend and irresponsible “mother.” Thank you for loving me when I’m not so lovable, and for dropping everything to help me last month. Thank you for the advice you have supplied me with. I am thankful for your hugs, and your protective mommy habits. I am thankful for you.

A. Thank you for teaching me to fight for myself. I am thankful for you.

T. Thank you for paying attention to me when my world came falling down so many years ago. Thank you for taking me seriously, and for listening to me. I am thankful for our phone therapy sessions, and for the endless amount of times you answered my sniffly calls and questions. I am thankful for the time you took out of your life to help me progress in my life. I am thankful for you.

J. I am thankful for that night five years ago. Thank you for teaching me how to reach out to others. Thank you for teaching me that the world is not always warm. I am thankful you showed me the rain, because now I smile in the sun. I am thankful for you.

C. Thank you for being my role model. Thank you for showing me what determination means. Thank you for heading our family sibling support system. Thank you for understanding all my sly Christmas looks when words are not needed. Thank you for being brilliant, and kind. I am thankful for you.

J. Thank you for showing me real love. Thank you for loving him, and for Christmas past and those to come as well. Thank you for being the big sister I never had, and for endless mimosas. I am thankful for you.

M. Thank you for being my best friend. Thank you for protecting me, and for threatening numerous ex-boyfriends. Thank you for being there that messy year. Thank you for always answering your phone. I am thankful for your endless advice, and the hard work you display in every aspect of life. I am thankful for you.

J. Thank you for teaching me not to settle. I am thankful for you.

Thank you to those both near and far; those both in my life and not. I am thankful for you.

 

11990554_10205374586619953_6275500900352323678_n

2 thoughts on “I am Thankful for You

Leave a Reply

