Such a Scary (and Beautiful) World I Have in Front of Me

Well, here we are. The screams and cheers are getting louder as I complete my final laps of freshman year. There have been moments of great downfall, but greater moments of success. I have left most of what I found to be familiar behind me, and have ventured out into the unknown a time or seven now. Ultimately I believe that these unplanned and unexpected adventures have helped me chisel away who others have perceived me to be, and allowed me to shape myself into who I plan to be. My father used the description “Mandie 2.0” after I changed my major and ended a long-term relationship all within the same week. Although it began as a joke, I have yet to find another way to describe all the changes I have allowed myself to make. In August 2014, I was a declared nursing major and three years into a committed, much too comfortable, long distance relationship. It is now April 2015, and I am a Public Relations major (with an anticipated marketing minor) and pursuing a relationship with a southern raised man who encourages me to achieve greatness even without him. Of course with such drastic changes in such a small amount of time, the lapsed months between August and April were not without emotional phone calls to mu parents and impulsive decision making. When I decided to leave the nursing college here at the University of Alabama, I immediately jumped into English education, believing it would give me the opportunity to write- a talent God has graced me with from a young age. It was not until a heartfelt discussion with a professor I respect immensely that I realized:
1. I would not be writing, but rather grading other writing.
2. Education leaves minimal (if any) room for advancement in a career path, and I need change in my life. I need goals.
With such large flaws quickly appearing in my projected future plans, I realized that education was not for me. I kept my plans of a second major change to myself for three weeks or so, realizing that ultimately it was me who needed to make a decision.

“What makes me happy?” I asked. After a long list of pros and cons was written, laid out next to a list of my skills and weaknesses, Public Relations seemed to jump out at me. It seemed so clear. I would be able to work in a city, I can find careers that allow me to travel, and I will be able to write. With answers finally laid out in front of me, fear also began to surge through my veins. This is a plan I have never seen for myself. Can I handle such responsibilities? Can I encourage myself to muster up the determination I will need to succeed in the intimidating world of business? Here I am, back at square one. While square one is never without anxiety, I will keep driving forward. The end goal is happiness, I am just finding a new path to take on the way there.

I am shutting the door on nursing, and opening doors in the scary business world. (Hello!)

I am shutting doors on past relationships, and chasing what I want, not just who shows interest.

I am growing, discovering, learning and maturing. I am finding Mandie, and reminding myself that independence is a beautiful thing. 

2 thoughts on “Such a Scary (and Beautiful) World I Have in Front of Me

  1. This is so awesome. A friend of mine shared your Meghan Trainor post and I have just created my own blog in the last 2 weeks. In a matter of 20 minutes I’ve skimmed through all of your posts and find so many connections. Thank you for personable and relatable writing. Look forward to reading your journey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

